Black and Blueberry Crisp

I mentioned in my last post that our local market was selling blueberries by the bin. Originally I was going to make blueberry pie, buy my laziness and lack of ingredients persuaded me to make a berry crisp inspired by my 1979 Betty Crocker’s cookbook instead. It’s funny to think they used to specialize in recipes when now they’re known for their convenience products. However, I’m not suprized that the same cookbook lauds Peach Cobbler for its two healthy basics: fruit and bread.

Blueberry Crisp

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

Yield: 9 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 lb blueberries
  • 1 lb blackberries
  • 2 T white wine
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Cooking Directions

Directions: Heat oven to 375 degrees. Wash berries and arrange in an ungreased 8x8x2 baking dish. Sprinkle with white wine (or lemon juice, but we didn’t have any lemons). Next, in a small-sized bowl, mix brown sugar, flour, oats, cinnamon and salt. Next add oil to bowl and mix until even. Sprinkle over arranged berries and bake at 375 degrees for about 3o minutes. You’ll know it’s done if the topping has browned. Serve with ice cream (we used soy).

Recipe by harrisarnoldcollaboration

Powered by Qumana

Leave a comment

Leave a comment